ICT for ageing well.



A- A A+

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the supreme governing and decision-making body of the Association. It is composed of all the Members and it works on the basis of a one country one vote principle. The General Assembly has the power to do anything instrumental to achieving the purpose of the Association.


More specifically it is competent to


  • plan the strategy and determine the policy of the Association;
  • receive and approve the AAL Joint Programme business report, closing account and the budget;
  • supervise the implementation of the AAL Joint Programme, including the approval of annual work programmes and allocation of national funding to projects;
  • appoint, dismiss, suspend, and accept the resignation of the members of the Executive Board at any time;
  • admit, exclude or suspend Members;
  • appoint auditors;
  • amend the statutes/by-laws;
  • dissolve the Association.

In the AAL General Assembly, national funding authorities (either ministries or funding agencies) are members (info on accession to the AAL Association). Each country has one vote in the General Assembly; countries with more than one member organisation nominate one single voting person.

At this moment (January 2017) the following organisations from 19 countries are members of the AAL Association:



Kerstin Zimmermann

Gerda Geyer
Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und
Bibrowska Beata InnovirisBelgium (Brussels City Region)
Alain Thielemans
Maarten Sileghem
VLAIOBelgium (Flanders)
Yves Joanette
Robyn Tamblyn
Susan Rogers
Alex Mihailidis
Leonidas Antoniou

Christakis Theocharous
Research Promotion
Jens Peter VittrupInnovationFondenDenmark
Nakita Vodjdani
Agence Nationale de la
Annick MartinCaisse Nationale de Solidarité pour l'
Szonja CsuzdiNational Research Development and Innovation
Ayala Karniol Israel-Europe R&D Directorate for
Ciaran Duffy
Stephen O'really
Enterprise IrelandIreland
Aldo Covello
Gaetano Guglielmi
Ministry of Education, University and
Pascal FabingLuxInnovation (Private Sector)
Andreea MonnatFond National de la Recherche (Public Sector)
René M.C. Prijkel International Coordinator,
Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sport Department of Long-Term Care
Chris Flim ZonMw
Geja Langerveld ZonMw
Tron Espeli The Research Council of
Renata Kapera

National Centre for Research & Development (NCBR)
Ana Neves
Pedro Ruivo
Foundation for Science and
Ioana Fagarasan

Ramona Simionescu
Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation Funding (UEFISCDI)
Alenka Tepina Ministry of Public
Berta MaureMinistry of Industry, Energy and Tourism (MINETUR)
Sergio MurilloBizkay RegionSpain
Rafael de Andrés Medina Instituto de Salud Carlos
Ann-Mari Fineman

Johanna Ulfvarson
Daniel EgloffSecrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l'
Chris SawyerInnovation UKUnited