General Assembly

The General Assembly is the supreme governing and decision-making body of the Association. It is composed of all the Members and it works on the basis of a one country one vote principle. The General Assembly has the power to do anything instrumental in achieving the purpose of the Association.

More specifically it is competent to:

  • plan the strategy and determine the policy of the Association;
  • receive and approve the AAL  Programme business report, closing account and the budget;
  • supervise the implementation of the AAL Joint Programme, including the approval of annual work programmes and allocation of national funding to projects;
  • appoint, dismiss, suspend, and accept the resignation of the members of the Executive Board at any time;
  • admit, exclude or suspend Members;
  • appoint auditors;
  • amend the statutes/by-laws;
  • dissolve the Association.

In the AAL General Assembly, national funding authorities (either ministries or funding agencies) are members (info on accession to the AAL Association). Each country has one vote in the General Assembly; countries with more than one member organisation nominate one single voting person.

Member Countries

The following organisations from 20 countries are members of the AAL Association:

Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und TechnologieKerstin Zimmermann, Gerda GeyerAustria
InnovirisBibrowska BeataBelgium (Brussels Region)
Flanders Innovation & Entrepreneurship AgencyAlain Thielemans, Maarten SileghemBelgium (Flanders)
CIHRJane Rylett, Rick
Research Promotion FoundationMarilena
InnovationfondenMartin KyvsgaardDenmark
Agence Nationale de la RechercheNakita
National Research Development and Innovation OfficeSzonja Csuzdi, Agnes
Ministry of Education, University and ResearchAldo
Ministry of HealthGaetano GuglielmiItaly
Friuli Venezia Giulia RegionKetty Segatti, Annalisa ViezzoliItaly
LuxInnovation (Private Sector)Pascal
Fond National de la Recherche (Public Sector)Andreea
Ministry of Health, Welfare and SportRené M.C. Prijkel, Geja LangerveldThe
Research Council of NorwayTron
National Centre for Research & Development (NCBR)Cezary
Foundation for Science and TechnologyAna Cristina
Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation Funding (UEFISCDI)Ioana Fagarasan, Ramona
Ministry of Public AdministartionAlenka
Ministry of Energy, Tourism and Digital AgendaBerta
Bizkay RegionSergio MurilloSpain
Instituto de Salud Carlos IIIMaria Jose Gonzalez Suso, Rafael de Andrés
Inno SuisseLarissa BeutlerSwitzerland
Innovate UKMike Biddle, George MacGinnisUnited
the Ministry of Science and Technology of TaiwanFung-Chin

This website use cookies. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies Read moreAccept